Hi,
I went for the Adult First Aid course for the past 2 days and tomorrow is my exam day!
I feel the course is a very good one as it teaches me some very good skills to attend to a person in need, but as the same time you learn the reality of the fact of saving lives.
In it, i learn to attend to injury and giving CPR to people, understanding of Shock of the heart and many more.
After knowing all this, i than realised that life can be so fragile! The skill that i learn from here can only be use to help people with minor injury, but as for the more serouis one....... I DON'T THINK I CAN DO ANYTHING!
Our body is so well design that alot of things happend to us is due to our own body protection system, as this design is so good that if a person were to have major injury. A First Aider with out equipments is just there to see that person die. And i also realised that save a person also sometimes need to pay a price, which is the restrictions of the law. The restriction is a good one as it is to protect First Aider from unresonable charges. But in some way, this also stop a person to help that person in need.
Example;
If you are a First Aider, you see a person meet with a accident, she is a lady and she already fainted and that is no sign of breathing, the heart already stop.
You were a guy, there is a lot of people there to watch but nobody seems to know how to do a CPR. Will you go up to help or join the crowd to watch?
Ok, now let talk about if you go to help. First you have to tell people that you are a First Aider, and you want to do a CPR but you than realised that the person is wearing a Bra which has the buckle in front of the chest! How do you go about it? Ask if there any females able to help you release the buckle so that you can do the CPR without hurting the person more? Or carry on and do it yourself? Or shout at the crowd saying that you are going to loosen the bra to save her? Please note that As a First Aider the Aim is to pervent further injuries to the person.
You see by thinking of this in that moment, you may have miss the golden chance to save that person! As the brain of the be dead in 4 mins if there is no oxygen being send to the brain, and every min is the person's 20% of life! You are racing against the time, but remember if you choose to do the wrong actions by unbuckle yourself, things maybe very ugly for you. And if you didn't handle it well, later even you may have save the person but you somehow get charged in court.
Ok, now lets go in to not helping. I don't blame people who choose not to help, think about this, seeing that person laying on the floor full of blood and smells of blood, people will tend to get scared. I will too if i really see it with my own eye and smell it with my own nose. You will start thinking that you don't have any equipment like gloves which is the most basic equipment, do you think you will go help? Think of this, nowadays there are so many virus going around, virus like SARs, H1N1 flu, AIDS, Diabeties all this can be contacted by blood. Are you so brave to go forward to help? Don't tell me that you will bring a pair of GLOVES everywhere you go right?
In any case, is the First Aider's choice to make, because more skills = more responsible!
GOT TO GIVE ALL MY FULL RESPECT TO ALL THE LIFE SAVER IN THE WORLD THE CREDITS TO SAVE A PERSON LIFE!!!!
And maybe next time if we choose not to help, but choose to be a bystander, please look at the whole incident as a very critical situation that needs help fast! Don't critised other by saying untruthful things, or jump to concusions. These are the only things we can do as a bystander.
Leonard Pang 0==[===>